World Series trophy: Value, size, history & previous winners

The World Championship Trophy is one of the most valuable trophies in the sport. Photo from the Chicago Tribune.

The World Championships is the pinnacle of baseball. Division winners from both the United States and the National League collide here in their quest to become world champions. There is only one goal for both teams – the World Championship Cup.

The World Championship Cup explained

The “Commissioner’s Cup” is the official name of the World Championship Cup. The MLB Commissioner awards this trophy to the winner of the Best of Seven Series.

There is no doubt that the World Championships Cup is one of the best sports tournaments. Here’s everything you need to know about the Commissioner’s Cup…

Who holds the World Championship Cup?

It was Belfort Jewelers who designed the original 1967 trophy. Four decades later, MLB finally decided to redesign the World Championship Cup.

Since then, the Trophy is created and awarded to each world champion each year – just like the Larry O’Brien Cup from the NBA and the Vince Lombardi Cup from the NFL.

Since 2000, Tiffany & Co. has been commissioned. Makes the World Championship Cup every year. It takes months to build and design sophisticated hardware like this one. Only the best craftsmen have what it takes to design this charming cup.

What is the Commissioner’s Cup made of?

Over 200 ounces of sterling silver. This is what it takes to build the Commissioner’s Cup.

In the center of the cup is a silver baseball made of 24-karat crimson stitching. This is characterized by the longitude and latitude that are supposed to represent the world. Meanwhile, the 30 gold-plated flags around it represent each MLB team.

The base is engraved with the signature of the MLB commissioner and the phrase: “Presented by the Commissioner of Baseball.”

Meanwhile, for vitals, the cup is 24 inches long (excluding the base) and has a diameter of 11 inches. Weighs about 30 lbs.

How much is the Commissioner’s Cup worth?

The Commissioner’s Cup is considered one of the most expensive awards in the history of sports. This is just as expected for something made of sterling silver with a sophisticated design.

The World Championship Trophy was worth about $2,500 when it was first commissioned in 1967. Now it is worth more than $19,000.

When was the first World Championship trophy delivered?

The first world championship took place in 1903 between the Boston Americans (now the Boston Red Sox) and the Pittsburgh Pirates. However, they did not have any championship trophy at that time. Instead, they only received rings.

The World Championship Trophy only became a tradition starting in 1967. This was the year the St. Louis Cardinals beat the Boston Red Sox for the World Championship. As you can see, the Cardinals are the first MLB team to receive the prestigious trophy.

The most successful teams in the world championship

Of the 30 MLB teams, there are only a few that have succeeded in the World Championship since the opening of the Commissioner’s Cup in 1967.

The Yankees won by seven. The Red Sox, Cardinals, and Athletics team won four; The Reds, Giants, and Dodgers won three.

Here is the full list of teams that have won the Commissioner’s Cup since its inception in 1967:

New York Yankees: Seven awards, 1977, 1978, 1996, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2009

Boston Red Sox: Four awards, 2004, 2007, 2013, 2018

St. Louis Cardinals: Four titles, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1989

Auckland Athletics: Four titles, 1967, 1982, 2006, 2011

Cincinnati Reds: Three titles, 1975, 1976, 1990

San Francisco Giants: Three titles, 1975, 1976, 1990

Los Angeles Dodgers: Three awards, 1981, 1988, 2020

Baltimore Orioles: Two awards, 1970, 1983

Detroit Tigers: Two awards, 1968, 1984

Kansas City Royals: Two awards, 1985, 2015

Miami Marlins: Two awards, 1997, 2003

Minnesota Twins: Two awards, 1987, 1991

New York Mets: Two glasses, 1969, 1986

Philadelphia Phillies: Two awards, 1980, 2008

Pittsburgh Pirates: Two awards, 1971, 1979

Toronto Blue Jays: Two awards, 1992, 1993

Arizona Diamondbacks: One Cup, 2001

Atlanta Braves: One Cup, 1995

Chicago White Sox: One Cup 2005

Chicago Cubs: One Cup, 2016

Houston Astros: One Cup, 2017

Los Angeles Angels: One Cup, 2002

Washington citizens: One Cup, 2019

Leave a Comment